Women's XC/Track

Women's Cross Country Named NCAA Division I Scholar Team of the Year

Feb. 14, 2012


The Georgetown University women's cross country team was named the NCAA Division I Scholar Team of the Year for the 2011 cross country season. Georgetown won its first NCAA National Championship this fall.

The honor announced by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) on Monday, recognizes teams who achieve All-Academic status and post top finishes at NCAA Championships. Claire Richardson (St. Paul, Minn./The Blake School), Emily Jones (Harvard, Mass./Bromfield), and Katrina Coogan (Exeter, N.H./Phillips Exeter Academy) were named All-Academic individual honorees last Thursday.

To qualify for the award, a team must have a team cumulative GPA of at least 3.00, and have at least five runners participating in its NCAA regional championship. The Hoyas have a cumulative team GPA of 3.28 through the end of 2011.

Head Women's Cross Country Coach Chris Miltenberg was also named the Peter Tegen National Women's Coach of the Year by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association after winning the women's cross country NCAA Division I National Championship on November 22, 2011.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned