Hoya Notes: From the Desk of Head Football Coach Kevin Kelly

April 24, 2013

Hoya Notes - End of the Year Banquet and Blue & Gray Scrimmage

From The Desk of Kevin Kelly

Dear family, friends and fans,

I wanted to take a moment to once again thank our seniors for their commitment and dedication to the Georgetown football program during the last four years. Nothing that we ask of these student-athletes is easy, and each of them deserves respect for their hard work and perseverance. I would also like to thank the parents for all of their support, especially Yvette Logan, who has been very helpful to this program during her son's career.

We hosted our annual end of the year banquet on Saturday and announced our 2012 award winners, which I will list below, and our 2013 captains and Joe Eacobacci No. 35 Memorial Jersey recipient. Congratulations are in order for Sean Campbell, who was named the 10th student-athlete to wear the No. 35 jersey. Sean emulates what Joey was all about. He's an excellent person, an excellent teammate, a hard worker and leader on and off the field.

We are also very excited about the four captains we have named for the 2013 season. Campbell is joined by Dustin Wharton, Daniel Sprotte and Isaiah Kempf, who will be in his second season as a team captain. Overall, I love the leadership from our rising senior class and I think it has already shown through in our winter conditioning program and throughout a spring that was very efficient and productive. On Monday, the guys started their offseason training program that will go through report day on Sunday, August 4. I expect everyone to work hard and arrive on campus bigger, faster and stronger, as the guys know that you cannot wait until preseason to get in shape.

Our motto, for this coming season is "Win the Day." Winning each and every day, whether it's in the weight room, practice field or in the class room is the process that it will take to prepare us to be in a position to win the Patriot League in 2013. We will have obstacles, namely a challenging schedule that will open with a Wagner team that went 9-4 and advanced to the second round of the FCS playoffs last season, several Ivy League opponents and our usual tough Patriot League schedule. But we feel we have the leadership and talent to compete for the league championship in 2013.

Following our banquet, we played our annual Blue & Gray scrimmage at Multi-Sport Field and had a nice turnout of families, friends and alumni. As a head coach, I was happy to see a day without any injuries. I was also pleased to see progress on both sides of the ball, a good sign moving into our offseason conditioning program.

At the end of next week, we will be announcing our recruiting class. We will be bringing in an excellent class that will create much needed depth to supplement our eight returning starters on defense and seven returning starters on offense, which includes three all-league players from a year ago.

In the meantime, we are anxiously awaiting the NFL Draft and keeping our fingers crossed that we will hear Robert McCabe's name called and he will have a chance to continue to fine tune his skills at the next level. We are all excited about seeing McCabe and possibly Jeremy Moore in camps with a chance of playing at the next level.

Again, thank you to everyone who was able to make it out this past weekend to support the Georgetown football program.

Win the Day!

Coach Kelly

To make a gift to Georgetown Football, please visit


Strength & Conditioning Award - Kenneth Furlough, WR
Special Teams Player of the Year - Craig Montgomery, LS
John L. Hagerty Award (Back) - Nick Campanella, RB, Jeremy Moore, CB
George A. Murtagh Award (Lineman) - James Spaly, OL, Jordan Richardson, DL
Mush Dubofsky Award (Student-Athlete) - Donald Rhodes, OL
John D. Burke Award (Courage & Spirit) - Brandon Floyd, WR
Belt Award - Mose Hogan III
Jeremiah Minihan Coaches' Award - Kevin Sullivan, OL
Al Blozis Award (MVP) - Robert McCabe, LB
Robert Paul Dahut Award Most Improved Player
Defense - Hunter Kiselick, DL
Offense - Michael Cimilluca, WR
2013 Captains - Sean Campbell, Dustin Wharton, Isaiah Kempf, Daniel Sprotte
Joe Eacobacci Memorial No. 35 Jersey - Sean Campbell

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned