Nevin Snow


Snow Named College Sailor of the Year as Georgetown Finishes Fifth at ICSA Gill Coed National Championships

June 4, 2015

WASHINGTON - On the final day of competition at the spring Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) national championships, Nevin Snow (San Diego, Calif./Cathedral Catholic) was awarded the Everett B. Morris Memorial Trophy, an honor that goes to the Marlow Ropes College Sailor of the Year, and the Hoyas finished fifth at the Gill Coed National Championships. Snow is the fifth Hoya to win the Everett B. Morris Memorial Trophy.

Of the two finalists for the Morris Trophy, Snow, already a two-time All-American, was the clear winner by the numbers. Snow, along with the Hoyas, took the top spot at the Match Race National Championship, he finished fifth at the Men's Singlehanded National Championship, and fifth overall and third in the A division with the Blue & Gray at the 2015 Gill Coed National Championship. He was also part of a team that finished fifth at the 2015 LaserPerformance Team Race National Championship.

"I am ecstatic, a little surprised, but relieved," Snow said of the award. "It is something that I have thought about, after being a finalist last year, but it has not been on my mind over the last days of competition, especially after the other finalist, Graham Landy, has sailed so well."

This is the sixth Morris Trophy nod for the Hoyas in the last 10 years as Andrew Campbell earned the honor in 2006, Chris Behm in 2008, Charlie Buckingham in 2009 and 2011, Chris Barnard in 2012 and now Snow in 2015. Snow credited Head Coach Michael J. Callahan and Assistant Coach Janel Zarkowsky as his two biggest supporters.

"It's a long year in college sailing," Callahan said. "Everyone thinks of the spring championships as the big events, but there are six championships and Nevin has done well in all of them ... What makes him great is his ability to excel in all types of boats and all types of conditions."

As competition concluded on the Narragansett Bay in Newport, R.I., the Hoyas had moved up two spots from their position from the previous day, totaling 314 points for fifth place.

Snow sailed in the A division with Katia DaSilva (East Greenwich, R.I./Portsmouth Abbey) and the duo tallied 134 points for third place. In the B division, the Hoyas finished 10th overall with 180 points. Sailing for the Hoyas in the B division were Alex Post (Chicago, Ill./Loyola Academy), Sean Golden (Duxbury, Mass./Tabor Academy), AJ Reiter (San Diego, Calif./Point Loma), Bettina Redway (Providence, R.I./St. George's), Meaghan MacRae (Melrose, Mass./Tabor Academy) and Isabelle Luzuriaga (Charleston, S.C./Ashley Hall).

Yale dominated the 18-team field with 186 points followed by the United States Coast Guard Academy (255), Boston College (265), College of Charleston (299), Georgetown (314), St. Mary's College (319), Roger Williams (324), Navy (325) and Tufts (339) for the top nine.

The winner of the Leonard M. Fowle Trophy for best overall collegiate team is College of Charleston. Georgetown was second and Boston College was third in line for the trophy. The team with the most Fowle points, compiled results of the ICSA Women's Singlehanded, Men's Singlehanded, Match Racing, Coed Semi-Finals, Women's, Team Racing, and Coed National Championships, determines the Fowle trophy.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned