Tim Barnes was named the No. 35 Joe Eacobacci Memorial jersey recipient during Saturday's banquet.


Football Program Celebrates 2015, Looks Toward 2016 During Banquet

April 27, 2016

WASHINGTON - Junior quarterback Tim Barnes (Oradell, N.J./River Dell Regional) was named the 14th recipient of the No. 35 Joe Eacobacci Memorial Jersey and junior Ty Williams (Gaithersburg, Md./Quince Orchard) was honored with the first Tyrell Williams SISU Award to highlight the awards presented during the Georgetown University football program's annual banquet on Saturday afternoon at the Leavey Center.

Barnes becomes the fourth offensive player selected to wear the No. 35 jersey joining senior running back Jo'el Kimpela (Kinshasa, D.R. Congo/Euless Trinity), Kevin Sullivan and Robert Lane.

"It is hard to believe that this will be the 14th time we have chosen a student-athlete to represent Joe Eacobacci's memory by wearing the No. 35," Head Coach Rob Sgarlata said. "The student-athletes who have worn the No. 35 have come to represent the very best of Georgetown and I am confident that Tim Barnes will honor Joey's memory both on and off of the field. Tim is a humble leader who has done everything that has been asked of him during his first three years in our program. I am excited to see him continue the tradition of the No. 35 on the Hilltop."

"It is a true honor to be named the No. 35 Jersey recipient for this year and I hope to honor the Eacobacci name, and the No. 35, to the best of my ability both on and off the field," Barnes said. "To have my name mentioned with all of the previous recipients, is a privilege. I look up to guys like Jo'el Kimpela, Nick Alfieri, Sean Campbell and others that have worn the jersey and I hope that I can continue the tradition honoring the Eacobocci family and Georgetown football community along the way, as well as wear No. 35 at quarterback. SISU is a term we use on the team and it is one of the key identities of the team. The 35 jersey is one of the best representations of SISU, so for me, it means representing the Eacobacci family in everything I do, and to wear the No. 35 with pride and dedication. I am truly thankful and blessed to wear the No. 35 and I am excited for the upcoming year."

Williams, who suffered a severe spinal injury in the first game of the season at Saint Francis (Pa.), returned to classes on campus at the beginning of the spring semester, while continuing his rehabilitation. Williams's attitude and work ethic during the on-going recovery process stirred the Georgetown coaching staff to create the Tyrell Williams SISU Award, to honor an individual whose strength and grace through adversity serves as an inspiration to the program. Williams was named as the first recipient, before giving a moving speech to the crowded room.

"This year we established the Tyrell Williams SISU Award as a new award which will be given annually," Sgarlata said. "As one of our core principles, we define SISU as "courage in the face of adversity." I can think of no better definition of Ty Williams. Over the past seven months Ty has taken this concept to a higher level. I have been in awe of his incredibly positive outlook and tireless work ethic during his courageous journey to a full recovery."

ROBERT PAUL DAHUT AWARD FOR MOST IMPROVED PLAYER: Freshman defensive lineman Mike Taylor III (Shreveport, La./CE Byrd) and freshman offensive lineman Micah Smith (Fort Lauderdale, Fla./Westminster Academy) were selected as the team's most improved players during spring ball. The award was presented by Georgetown graduate Dr. William Dahut.

AL BLOZIS MOST VALUABLE PLAYER AWARD: Senior linebacker Matt Satchell (Cherry Hill, N.J./Cherry Hill East) was named the team's most valuable player after finishing fourth in the Patriot League with 100 tackles. The captain also finished seventh in the PL in tackles for loss with 10.5. He was the Hoyas' lone First Team All-Patriot League selection.

JEREMIAH MINIHAN COACHES' AWARD: Senior fullback Troye Bullock (Suitland, Md./DeMatha) and senior defensive lineman Dezmond Richardson (Dry Prong, La./Euless Trinity) were presented with the Minihan Award for their leadership and hard work during their four-year careers on the Hilltop. Bullock finished with 118 yards on 23 carries, while leading the team in yards per carry. Richardson played in all 11 games where he finished with 27 tackles, 2.0 tackles for loss, one-half sack and one pass breakup.

JOHN D. BURKE FOR OUTSTANDING COURAGE AND SPIRIT: Senior wide receiver Harrison Glor (Boston, Mass./Belmont Hill) and senior cornerback Cameron Gamble (Powder Springs, Ga./McEachern) earned the team's courage and spirit award, after both battled back from preseason injuries to earn starting spots during the season. Glor had his best season on the Hilltop, finishing with 281 yards and three touchdowns on 30 receptions. Gamble started the last five games of the season at cornerback and made 15 tackles and broke up three passes.

MUSH DUBOFSKY AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING STUDENT-ATHLETE: Sophomore wide receiver Jimmy McLaughlin (Fairfax, Va./W.T. Woodson) was named the team's most outstanding student-athlete, making his second-consecutive Patriot League Academic Honor Roll and carrying the highest grade point average on the roster. McLaughlin was also admitted to the prestigious Baker Scholars program.

GEORGE A. MURTAUGH AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING LINEMAN: Senior offensive lineman Kevin Liddy (Garden City, N.Y./Kellenberg Memorial) was named the team's top lineman for the 2015 season. Liddy was a three-year starter and anchored a young offensive line for the Hoyas last season.

JOHN L. HAGERTY AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING BACK: Senior quarterback Kyle Nolan (Branford, Conn./Branford [Choate Rosemary Hall]) and senior cornerback Ettian Scott (Okinawa, Japan/Northside (N.C.)) were named the team's top backs. Nolan broke Georgetown career records in passing attempts, completions and total yards and is among the top five in touchdowns and completion percentage. Scott goes down as the Hoyas' all-time leader in passes defended, after leading Division I FCS in the category, while earning his second All-Patriot League nod.

SPECIAL TEAMS PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Sophomore placekicker Henry Darmstadter (Alexandria, Va./George Mason) went 9-for-13 field goals and a perfect 27-for-27 on extra points to finish among the PL leaders with 54 points.

STRENGTH AND CONDITIONING AWARD: Senior running back Jo'el Kimpela (Kinshasa, D.R. Congo/Euless Trinity) was awarded the No. 35 Joe Eacobacci Memorial Jersey prior to the 2015 season and continued to set the example for his teammates in the weight room, earning the Strength and Conditioning Award from Sports Performance Coach Chris Tolzman. Kimpela finished his career fourth in GU history with 1,945 rushing yards, just missing an opportunity to join the 2,000 yard club with an injury late in the season.

THE BELT AWARD: Senior offensive lineman Matt Hungate (Morton, Ill./Morton) continued to work and find ways to help the team on and off the field despite an injury that sidelined him for much of the season.

12TH MAN AWARD: Director of Equipment and Transportation Joshua LaRosa earned the 12th Man Award for his outstanding service to the Georgetown football program from a support staff role. LaRosa is in his third season leading the football equipment staff.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned