Men's Lacrosse

Men's Lacrosse Faces Denver in BIG EAST Championship Final

May 4, 2018

Game Notes vs Denver 5/05 Get Acrobat Reader

VILLANOVA, Pa. - For the second time in four years, No. 17/18 Georgetown University will square off against No. 3/3 Denver in the BIG EAST Men's Lacrosse Championship presented by Jeep on Saturday. The second-seeded Hoyas advanced to the finals courtesy of a 13-10 victory over host third-seed Villanova on Thursday while the top-seeded Pioneers advanced with a 10-7 win over four seed Marquette.

Opening faceoff on Saturday is set for 2:07 p.m. and will be broadcast on CBS Sports Network with Ben Holden calling the action and Evan Washburn providing color commentary. Live stats will also be available at

In Thursday's semifinal victory over Villanova, nine different Hoyas (11-4) scored goals with senior Craig Berge (Massapequa, N.Y./Massapequa) leading the way with four goals and an assist. Lucas Wittenberg (Kennesaw, Ga./Harrison/Mercer) added a goal and three assists and Robert Clark (Cooksville, Md./McDonogh School) had two goals and an assist.

In goal, Nick Marrocco (Duxbury, Mass./Duxbury) posted his second double-digit save performance against Villanova this season. He stopped 12 Wildcat shots on the day and shut VU out in the third quarter.

Peter Tagliaferri (Danville, Calif./San Ramon Valley) was dominant at the `X', winning 19-of-24 (.791) faceoffs on the day. He posted clean sheets in both the first and third quarters and led all players with 10 ground balls.

Denver (12-2) overcame a late Marquette run to claim a 10-7 victory, its second three-goal win over the Golden Eagles in back-to-back games this season. Trevor Baptiste became the NCAA's all-time leader in faceoff wins in the game, going 14-for-21 (.667) from the `X'. Austin French led the Pios with five goals and an assist while Ethan Walker chipped in two goals.

Saturday's matchup features five of the six major award winners from the 2018 All-BIG EAST teams. Denver's Walker was named the Attack Player of the Year, Baptiste was voted the Midfielder of the Year and Dylan Gaines was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year. For Georgetown, Marrocco was named the Goalkeeper of the Year while the Hoya staff, led by sixth-year head coach Kevin Warne, was named the Coaching Staff of the Year.

In all, 13 All-BIG EAST selections will be on the sidelines for Saturday's final. First Team selections include Berge, Daniel Bucaro (East Setauket, N.Y./Ward Melville) and Marrocco from Georgetown as well as Baptiste, Gaines, Walker, Colton Jackson and Dylan Johnson from Denver. Second Team honorees include Ryan Hursey (Finksburg, Md./Westminster), Gibson Smith (Pelham, N.Y./Pelham Memorial) and Wittenberg from the Blue & Gray as well as French and Joe Reid from the Pioneers.

Georgetown and Denver met on the Hilltop in the regular season with the Pioneers eking out a 6-5 victory. Berge paced the Hoyas with three goals and an assist while Walker tallied two goals and an assist for Denver. Marrocco hauled in nine saves for the Hoyas in the loss while DU's goalie Josh Matte had seven.

Both teams met in the 2015 BIG EAST Championship final with Denver claiming the league crown en route to winning the NCAA Championship that season. 2015 was the last season the Hoyas qualified for the BIG EAST Championship and was the last time that Denver took home the trophy in the event.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned